Rock U - People - How to Delete a Person

Transcribed Video Content

Deleting a person in Rock. Deleting a person in Rock is deliberately hard. And that's because we rely on things giving and history records that are on a person. And we know that you'll have things test entries or stray records. We'll talk about how to remove those records and when it's best to merge or inactivate a profile. So the truth about deleting people in Rock is that Rock doesn't delete people. The reason for that is because of how valuable and necessary things giving attendance. So to tell you the full truth, Rock doesn't delete people. The reason for that is because things giving attendance and history are crucial and that's all information that's saved on a person record. And we wanna keep that intact. So there are some methods you can take when someone's no longer attending, for example, or if someone's even explicitly asked you to delete their profile. Now, one of the best things to do, the majority of the time is to just inactivate a profile. That will put the profile on pause, but not remove all the important information you may need in the future. And an example of why we wouldn't do this is if you deleted a person's profile, you wouldn't be able to get their contribution statement to them later, or if they ever needed info their attendance, their giving history, you wouldn't be able to get that to them. There is a way to do it though if someone is saying, hey, I really want my profile deleted. I don't care about the history, things that. And this is just a safe way to do it in Rock is to merge a person profile. Let me show you those two different methods. So we have Johnny Appleseed here, a profile that we don't really need anymore, say for any reason, we can go into it, click edit, we can change the record status to inactive. You can actually add a reason. We've got some out of the box. You can add more things no longer attending, no activity, moved, if someone is deceased or they don't attend with their family, and you can add a specific note. And when you save, then a person's record will no longer be active and it'll be marked here as inactive. But I'm gonna mark it active again, and we are going to show you the method that you can use to actually remove a person's profile, which again we don't really suggest, but you can do it. Now if we look up Johnny Appleseed here, I can click on his profile and we will go to merge person records. Now out of the box, Rock has a person profile called Giver Anonymous. And we use that for things if you need to remove a person's profile in a safe way, you can do it this. And this will basically throw all of this person's data into a junk pile in the anonymous family profile or person. So or sorry, anonymous giver, which is a part of the anonymous family. So this is when you're really done with a profile and someone's asked you to delete it. Make sure to just select everything here for the anonymous anonymous family giver profile and merge records. And what this is basically gonna do is essentially delete Johnny Appleseed's profile, and you won't see it anymore. Okay. You've cleared a record safely without breaking any history. Just remember that it's usually safest to merge or inactivate a profile so that you can keep the record.